Trent Valley Way

Walk the length of the Trent

Already established for 154 miles through Nottinghamshire and Lincolnshire, the Trent Valley Way is a long-distance footpath along the Trent Valley.

The latest section of the Trent Valley Way between Rugeley and Shardlow

The Trent Valley Way has the ambition to become a fully way-marked source-to-sea walking route, starting at its source in Stoke-on-Trent all the way to the Humber estuary. Along the way, walkers delve into the rich history of the Trent wandering through picturesque market towns, pockets of wilderness, and rolling countryside. Passing through six counties, the Trent Valley Way retraces the industrial heritage on the River Trent, visiting industrial-era towns including Rugeley, Burton-upon-Trent, Nottingham, Newark, Gainsborough and Alkborough. Being an important wildlife corridor, a well-timed walk provides good chances of spotting migratory birds and other wildlife.

Where is the path now?

It is possible to navigate the entire Trent Valley Way using publicly accessible footpaths. Some pioneering souls lived to tell the tale, having successfully section-walked the entire path. If you’re after dedicated way-marking we recommend the 154-mile section starting from Rugeley to Alkborough in the Humber Estuary.

How can I start walking?

Rugeley and Shardlow

Follow the path on OS Maps.

Shardlow to Alkborough

Follow the path on OS Maps

Navigate via Map

Below are A4 PDFs of OS maps for the different lengths. Signposting is now in place from Colwich. We always recommend taking a map (digital or paper) when walking the Trent Valley Way and would ask walkers to notify us of any issues en route. These will then be forwarded to the authorities responsible.

What if I don’t want to walk the whole length?

The good news is you don’t have to! We have added seven circular walks on the Rugeley to Shardlow route for you to enjoy. The walks vary in difficulty, but have been designed to be completed within a day.

Walk the Trent Valley Way between Stoke on Trent and Staffordshire

Walk the Trent Valley Way from Nottinghamshire to Lincolnshire

With thanks to our funders without whom the latest section between Rugeley and Shardlow would have not happened!

Our funders


Read More Read Less

Facts and Figures

Our Catchments