The Lower Trent and Erewash catchment covers an area of 2,045km2, extending from the River Dove confluence with the River Trent, south west of the city of Derby, to the Humber Estuary. The catchment covers part of the county of Nottinghamshire together with areas of Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire and South Yorkshire.

The River Trent in south Derbyshire is relatively unmodified but downstream of Shardlow it is navigable with locks and weirs. In Nottingham the river is characterised by formal embankments and riverside developments.

Downstream of Nottingham the river widens before reaching Newark and then it is flanked by low-lying, flat land with land drainage ditches and dykes. The sand and gravel deposits adjacent to the River Trent have been exploited and some of the gravel pits have since been restored as wetland areas and for recreation.

The River Trent then flows north to the Yorkshire border where it joins the River Ouse at Trent Falls to form the Humber Estuary.

The River Erewash is a major tributary within the Lower Trent catchment, flowing south through a series of urban areas including Ilkeston and Long Eaton.

The River Leen rises north of Nottingham and flows southwards to the city where it has been canalised and culverted for much of its course.

Lower Trent Catchment Partnership

The Trent Rivers Trust hosts the Lower Trent Catchment Partnership. The vision is for “a Lower Trent & Erewash catchment with a healthy, functioning water environment including rivers, lakes and groundwater”.

Four ‘hubs’ have been identified in the catchment, namely the Trent Valley/Trent Gateway, the Erewash and Leen, the Dover Beck and Greet and Bottesford Beck and the River Eau.

The Lower Trent & Erewash Catchment Plan can be found HERE.


Trent Gateway – a partnership to improve the lower Trent for migratory fish. To read more click HERE